LibGuides: Agriculture: Articles, Databases & Newspapers

Articles, Databases & Newspapers

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
An academic multi-disciplinary database with full text access to over 4,700 publications. Information dates back to 1975 and is updated on a daily basis.
Agricola This link opens in a new window
A database produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL), consists of two subsets of records. The first contains citations for journal articles that include abstracts. The second consists of bibliographic records describing monographs, serials, audiovisual materials and online content from around the world. AGRICOLA includes but is not limited to resources available in the library. The database contains 5,200,000+s records and includes printed works from as far back as the 15th century.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
This database includes full text access to over 7400 scholarly business journals and other sources. Information is updated daily.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies combines news, unique commentary, audio, video, primary source documents, images, conference reports, statistics and more on topics related to the environment, energy and natural resources.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Full-text for 108 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications. Full-text coverage dating back to 1990.

These electronic journals and magazines are available in the Minnesota West Libraries databases:

Agricultural Research
Research articles on food, nutrition and aspects of farming and pest control published by the Agricultural Research Service, United States Department of Agriculture.
Archives of Agronomy & Soil Science
Covers the entire range of agronomy & soil science, including plant nutrition, fertilizers, manure, soil tillage, soil biotechnology & ecophysiology, amelioration, irrigation and drainage, agroclimatology, plant production, and environmental management.
Crops
Provides the facts & figures our readers need to make sound business decisions, identify new opportunities, reduce costs of production or increase output.
Farm Journal
Farm Journal, the largest national U.S. farm magazine, is a prime source of practical information on crops and livestock for farm families. Published 12 times a year, the magazine emphasizes agricultural production, technology and policy.
Farmers Weekly
News & views about the business of farming, & topical technical information from independent experts designed to help farmers manage their businesses more effectively.
Horticulture
Articles on gardening techniques, soil & fertilizers, tools & equipment, greenhouses, seeds, nursery stock and pest & plant disease control.
National Hog Farmer
Covers production technology, management practices in production and marketing, and other issues related to professional pork production.
Plant & Soil
Publishes original papers & review articles exploring the interface of plant biology and soil sciences, and offering a clear mechanistic component.
Rural Sociology
Publication of the Rural Sociological Society. Articles for the professional in rural sociology on extractive industries, agriculture and environmental concerns, attitudes and behaviors of rural residents and book reviews.

AgriNews
Weekly agricultural newspaper serving Minnesota and Northern Iowa.
Minnesota Farm Guide
A bi-monthly ag publication in the Upper Midwest by providing pertinent news and advertising services.

ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Choose to search newspapers from one of the world's largest digital newspaper collections. Thousands of the articles are available in full text.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Full-text for 108 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications. Full-text coverage dating back to 1990.

Tri-State Neighbor
Bimonthly agricultural newspaper serving Iowa, South Dakota and Southwestern Minnesota farmers and ranchers.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar offers many scholarly open-access articles, which are freely available on the web. However, these are mixed between scholarly fee-based articles, which are available for purchase, and with non-scholarly articles.

How can you tell if an article is scholarly?