History (World)

Use archive.org to find primary source documents for history that are not easily located. Includes web-based resources, audio and video files and texts from the Google book project, Project Gutenberg, etc.

Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy.

Author: Douglas O. Linder, a faculty member at University of Missouri - Kansas City.

Includes a link to collaborative digital libraries as well as a link to individual digital collections of international interest. Created by the Library of Congress.

The National Archives of the United Kingdom is one of the premier archives in the world, and it's website provides an impressive portal for online entrance. The site contains digitized copies for over 5 percent of the entire National Archives' record holdings dating back 100 years. Special features include a Find an Archive discovery tool that retrieves records not only from the National Archives but also dozens of other collections.

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is an independent agency of the United States government charged with preserving and documenting government and historical records and with increasing public access to those documents, which comprise the National Archives.[6] NARA is officially responsible for maintaining and publishing the legally authentic and authoritative copies of acts of Congress, presidential proclamations and executive orders, and federal regulations. The NARA also transmits votes of the Electoral College to Congress.

Sponsored by the University of Southern California's Shoah Foundation, the VHA Online is a resource for educators, researchers, students, and the public interest in survivor's stories of the European Holocaust, the 1994 Rwandan genocide, and the Nanjing Massacre of 1937-38. The world's largest digital collection of its kind, it provides access to data and video for over 51,000 testimonies.

Links to general history resources, organizations, and conferences. The site is organized by category, type and geographic region.

The Center for History and New Media (CHNM) at George Mason University received funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities to create Women in World History.

The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.

World History Matters is a portal to world history websites developed by the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

From the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, D.C.

Includes "stories, films and historical material about the First World War." This site, new in 2014, " mixes resources from libraries and archives across the globe with memories and memorabilia from families throughout Europe."

From Ball State University's library.

Digitized sources from Central University Libraries, Southern Methodist University.

From Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media, George Mason University.

Contains searchable archives of articles covering the war from five newspapers: "Times of London, the Niles' National Register, the Martinsburg Gazette, the Richmond Enquirer, and the Richmond Whig."

From the Clements Library, University of Michigan.

The U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center (USAHEC) makes available contemporary and historical materials related to strategic leadership, the global application of Landpower, and U.S. Army Heritage to inform research, educate an international audience, and honor Soldiers, past and present.

International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War.

From the Avalon Project, Yale Law School library.

A guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world.

From the Avalon Project, Lillian Goldman Law Library, Yale University.

Contains news, information, games and controversy about the life, literataure, art and archaeology in Ancient Greece and Rome.

Categorized list of links to all sorts of sites. Created and maintained by Maria C. Pantelia of the University of California, Irvine.

A cooperative project of many universities; funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

From the EuroDocs collection at the library of Brigham Young University.

Includes many Greek and Latin texts, some of which are translated. Also includes photos of ancient ruins.

Contains early Greek and Roman materials, a Papyri collection, English Renaissance materials, and a collection on the History of London as well as various American sources. One of the longest-lived websites for ancient texts. From Tufts University.

From Georgetown University, this site provides organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies, including links to databases, services, texts, and images. Each user will be able to find an Ariadne's thread through the maze of information on the Web.

From Northwestern University Library.

From Michigan State University.

From the American Geographical Society Library at the University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee.

From Yale University Library.

Includes many digital documents as well as other information.

SAHO’s is the largest popular history project of its kind on the African continent. The SA History’s flagship project is its website, which is a vast encyclopaedia on South African and African history. The website is acknowledged for its accuracy, with all its articles carefully referenced and all featured articles are linked to a vast archive of documents, journal articles, online books and images.

From the BBC World Service.

From Northwestern University Library.

From the American Geographical Society Library at the University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee.

An exhibition of the National Diet Library, Tokyo.

From the University of Chicago and Center for Research Libraries.

List of links maintained by Jack Lynch, Rutgers University.

Site created and maintained by John Michael Purves covering the economic, political, and social history of postwar Okinawa.

From the American Geographical Society Library at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

From the University of Sydney Library's Electronic Text and Image Service (SETIS). Includes 10 full-text and image collections.

Presenting 110 key documents that are the foundation of the Australian nation.

Multiple digital collections within this site, including Maori Art: Canoes and British Parliamentary Papers of Colonial New Zealand.

From the American Geographic Society Library at the University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee.

Contains clips from BBC History programs.

From the University of Ulster, covers 1968 to the present.

From the National Library of Denmark and Copenhagen University Library. A translate feature exists for non-Danish speakers.

The National Library of Scotland is a reference library with world-class collections. It is also Scotland's largest library and one of the major research libraries in Europe.

The Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. It bridges the gap between a diverse user community and the limited resources of libraries by means of sample imaging and extensive rather than intensive cataloguing.

Includes selected transcriptions, facsimiles and translations of key historical events within medieval and renaissance Europe and Europe as a supranational region within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history.

From the Historical Text Archive. Includes links to more than 20 electronic books.

From the European University Institute in Florence, Italy. "The purpose of EHPS is to provide an easily searchable index of scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources for the history of Europe."

From the University of Texas at Austin libraries.

A collection of primary and secondary texts that illuminate the theater, literature, and history of Shakespeare, Shakesperean texts, theatrical production and criticism.

From Georgetown University, this site provides organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies, including links to databases, services, texts, and images. Each user will be able to find an Ariadne's thread through the maze of information on the Web.

From Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media, George Mason University.

From the New York Public Library Digital Collections.

From the National Library of the Netherlands.

From the Library of Congress. "A bilingual, multimedia English-Spanish digital library."

"...containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court."

From the University of Pittsburgh. "...REESWeb has sought to help users identify high quality web content that is located in or focuses on the region stretching from Bohemia to Central Asia."

From Indiana University.

"Canadiana.org is a membership alliance dedicated to building Canada’s digital preservation infrastructure and providing the broadest possible access to Canadian documentary heritage. " Includes links to freely available resources.

From the Latin American Network Information Center at the University of Texas. Speeches are in English, and the site includes links to other sites with Spanish-language versions.

From the University of Miami Libraries.

From the University of Washington, University Libraries.

From the Latin American Network Information Center at the University of Texas.

From the Library of Congress. "A bilingual, multimedia English-Spanish digital library."

From the Library of Congress. "Information about Cuba, Guam, the Philippines, Puerto Rico, Spain, and the United States is provided in chronologies, bibliographies, and a variety of pictorial and textual material from bilingual sources..."

From Cornell University Library.

From Latin American Research Resources Project (LARRP), hosted by LANIC at the University of Texas. Includes messages from 1810-1999.

From the Center for Research Libraries.

From the Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) at the University of Texas.