Nursing

This collection helps community leaders see that where we live, learn, work, and play influences how healthy we are and how long we live. The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation is collaborating with the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute to develop these Rankings for each state’s counties.

The mission of the Minnesota Board of Nursing is to protect the public's health and safety through regulation of nursing education, licensure and practice.

The official website of the state health department.

The Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics is made up of nine federal agencies that produce statistics on aging.

The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is the nation’s principal health statistics agency, providing data to identify and address health issues.

A collaboration between the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute, the County Health Rankings show the rank of the health of nearly every county in the nation.

The DRC website includes national and state-level data on hundreds of child health indicators.

Statistics and information concerning a wide range of health related topics.

Publications by the World Health Organization.

This site includes tools, web applications, articles, links, and libraries to assist both caregivers and students in the careplanning process. The extensive library of care plans have been developed by nurses, for nurses to assist in all areas of the care planning process.

DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts.

A site to educate consumers about the safety and side effects of drugs and about medical devices.

Provided in full-text online throught the American Journal of Nursing, the purpose of this series is to give nurses the knowledge and skills they need to implement EBP consistently, one step at a time.

GeronurseOnline.org is the official geriatric nursing Web site of the American Nurses Association (ANA). It was developed through the Nurse Competence in Aging initiative, to provide information regarding nursing care of older adults.

Mayo Clinic is a not-for-profit medical practice dedicated to the diagnosis and treatment of illness. Part of the mission is to serve as a reliable source of health information. Search by diseases and conditions, symptoms, drugs and supplements, tests and procedures, healthy living, and first aid.

MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.

A trusted source for medical information available free online.

NINR supports and conducts clinical and basic research and research training on health and illness across the lifespan. Available resources include fact sheets, podcasts, and topical booklets.

The National Network for Immunization Information (NNii) provides up-to-date, science-based information to healthcare professionals, the media, and the public.

NurseZone.com is an online community dedicated to providing nurses with professional and personal development information and opportunities.

Compiled by the National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Nursing on the Net provides a comprehensive directory of authoritative websites on a variety of health and nursing topics.

A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries, this site helps the public health workforce find and use information effectively to improve and protect the public's health.

Health and safety information from the National Center for Health Marketing of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Sponsored by the National Health Information Center, Healthfinder.gov contains information and tools on a wide range of health topics.

Provided by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services and the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, NGCis a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

"The mission of the National Center on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NCMHD) is to promote minority health and to lead, coordinate, support, and assess the NIH..."

NINR "supports clinical and basic research to establish a scientific basis for the care of individuals across the life span." Information and publications on topics such as end-of-life care, pediatrics, women's health, and geriatric care are accessible. Also includes information about diversity programs, conference listings, and other related links.

Health and wellness information for older adults from the National Institutes of Health.

DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts.

The U.S. National Library of Medicine's direct site for drug information. Detailed information on thousands of drugs is available at the site.

A service of the National Library of Medicine, Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.

MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.

PubMed Health specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports. Clinical effectiveness research finds answers to the question “What works?” in medical and health care.

TOXNET provides multiple databases and information on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environment health, and toxic releases.

A database containing nursing jobs by state.

A comparison of cost of living in all 50 states ranked by affordability of housing against average annual salary for registered nurses. The chart also includes projected number of jobs and growth rate.

Blog from the American Journal of Nursing covering a variety of nursing news and topics.