Music

The allmusic website was created in 1995 as a place for music fans to indulge their passion and is considered one of the most comprehensive music reference sources on the planet.

Offers basic biographical information on over 4,000 composers and links to information about them on the Web.

Portal provides links to useful Internet resources for music.

The free public domain music library.

The Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music contains over 29,000 pieces of music and focuses on popular American music spanning the period 1780 to 1960.

A site on the history of Western music, organized according to the eras of history from the Middle Ages to the present.

The site for the Cyber Encyclopedia of Musical Theatre, Television and Film by John Kenrick.

An online music library of copyright free (public domain) music.

Detailed information on many operas from a site maintained at Stanford University.

The Performing Arts Encyclopedia (PAE) is a guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress. The PAE provides information about the Library's unsurpassed collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, and other materials. Users can find digitized items from the collections; special Web presentations on topics and collections; articles and biographical essays; finding aids to collections; databases for performing arts resources; information on concerts at the Library; and a special Performing Arts Resource Guide which contains entries for hundreds of Library collections, Web sites, databases and exhibits.