This essential handbook provides indispensable guidance for all those seeking or reporting investigations in radiology which arises in an emergency setting. It summarises the major problems faced on-call and provides advice on the most suitable radiological tests to request as well as suggesting an appropriate timescale for imaging. From a radiologist's perspective, it lists in concise format the protocol for each test and outlines the expected findings.Emergency radiology is a crucial component of emergency care as a whole. It is rare for a patient to undergo emergency surgery or treatment without prior imaging. Radiology is the new gate-keeper in clinical practice with an emergency CT scan of the head being performed in most UK hospitals every day. Radiology can confirm a diagnosis, sending a patient down a pathway of established therapy; confirm normality, leading to patient discharge; detect an unsuspected abnormality, suggesting analternative action altogether; or be non-contributory. This concise, portable handbook supports emergency-setting radiology and helps the reader in this vital field.

Long overdue, this new work provides just the right focus and scope for the practice of radiography in this digital age, covering four entire courses in a typical radiography program. The entire emphasis of foundational physics has been adjusted in order to properly support the specific information on digital imaging that will follow. The paradigm shift in imaging terminology is reflected by the careful phrasing of concepts, accurate descriptions and clear illustrations throughout the book. There are 641 illustrations, including meticulous color line drawings, numerous photographs and stark radiographs. Chapter 29 alone, on digital image processing, includes 40 beautifully executed illustrations. Foundational chapters on math and basic physics maintain a focus on energy physics. Obsolete and extraneous material has been eliminated, while concepts supporting digital imaging are more thoroughly discussed. All discussion of electricity is limited to only those concepts which bear directly upon the production of x-rays in the x-ray tube. Following is a full discussion of the x-ray beam and its interactions within the patient, the production and characteristics of subject contrast, and an emphasis on the practical application of radiographic technique. This is conventional information, but the terminology and descriptions used have been adapted with great care to the digital environment. No fewer than eight chapters are devoted directly to digital imaging, with the physics of digital image capture, extensive coverage of digital processing techniques, and the practical application issues of both CR and DR. Image display systems are brought up to date with the physics of LCD screens and of electronic images. In all, there are eleven full chapters dealing specifically with digital and electronic imaging concepts. Chapters on Radiation Biology and Protection include an unflinching look at current issues and radiation protection in practice. The radiation biology is clearly presented with numerous lucid illustrations, and a balanced perspective on radiation and its medical use is developed. To reinforce mathematical concepts for the student, dozens of practice exercises are strategically dispersed throughout the chapters, with answer keys provided in the appendix. Extensive review questions at the end of each chapter give a thorough, comprehensive review of the material learned. The Instructor and Laboratory Manual, available on disc, includes the answer key for all chapter review questions and a bank of well over 1450 multiple-choice questions for instructors'use. It also includes 30 laboratory exercises demonstrating the applications of CR equipment for use in class.